Unless exempted by state, federal or local law, it shall be unlawful for any person to engage in business within the City of Sunset, whether on a temporary or permanent basis, without first procuring a license.
It shall further be unlawful for any person to sell, or allow to be sold, two (2) or more vehicles, boats, motorcycles, trailers, mobile homes, camper shells or a combination of either within any twelve (12) month period without first procuring a business license from the City for allowing the sale of said vehicles.
To apply for a business license, pick up a packet from the City Offices. Provide all the information requested on the Business License Application and submit the application to the Business License Department. Attach a copy of your state license and DBA proof, if applicable. A building and fire inspection may be scheduled. After all inspections have been completed and the application has been approved by the Building Inspector and Fire Inspector, the application will be given to the Mayor for final approval. When approved the Mayor, the Business License will be issued.
Sunset business license Fees:
All individuals and partnerships conducting business under an assumed name (DBA: "Doing Business As") must register the business name with the Department of Commerce. The only business that does not have to register the DBA is a business licensed under the owner's given name. If any other name is attached, the business name must be registered (ex: "Jane Doe" does not have to register. "Jane Doe's Shop" has to register).
Specific types of occupations or professions are to be licensed by the state. For information on qualifications and applications contact the Utah State Tax Commission, 210 North 1950 West, SLC, Utah 84134, (801)297-2200 or (801)662-4335. (Web page www.tax.ex.state.ut.us)
Type of Business
|Light Manufacture or Repair||$91.00||$61.00|
|Rental (equipment, merchandise, etc.)||$124.00||$94.00|
Annual Fire Inspection Required. . . . . . . . . . . . . . $85.00 . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . $55.00
No Annual Fire Inspection Required . . . . . . . . . . . $0.00 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$0.00
Building Rental (Administration Fee $30.00) plus:
Standard rental license..... $192.00 per unit
Better Landlord Program Participants.....$25.00 per unit
Commercial..... $5 per unit
**Business License renewals are due by December 31st of each year**
(If a license is not renewed by January 15th, a penalty of 50% of the license fee will be added. If the license is not renewed by February 1st, a penalty of 75% of the license fee will be added. If the license is still not renewed by March 1st, a citation for engaging in business without a license will be issued and an additional $100 will be added to cover collection costs.)
Solicitor Registration (per person)....$55.00 (renewal due 1 year from issue date
Temporary - $50.00 Plus $1.00 per day (limit of 90 consecutive days per calendar year)
Fireworks - $350.00 (plus $100.00 refundable bond for outdoor stands)
1 or 2 Day Special event license - Sponsor $50.00, each vendor $10.00
**$5.00 fee for a duplicate business license**
**$10.00 admistrative fee for any changes made to an existing business license**
IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CONTACT THE BUSINESS LICENSE DEPARTMENT AT 801-825-1628